Low Fat Fettuccine

I like fettuccine, but I don’t like how how in fat it is. This is a recipe I found online, but then tweaked a bit to make it my own. I will definitely be making this quite often.

Just as a note, I also added pancetta to the sauce to add a bit of natural saltiness. Instead of adding it directly to the sauce, I think I will saute it next time separately and then add it on top of the dish at the end. I would have liked it to keep its crunchiness.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp flour, plus 1 tsp, if needed
  • 2 1/3 cups low fat milk
  • about 2 cups grated Parmesan cheese (I used Pecorino Romano because I like the sharp taste of it)
  • 4 tablespoons low fat cream cheese
  • Small head of broccoli, cut into small pieces
  • 1 box fettuccine
  • pepper
Directions:
1- Cook pasta according to package directions.
2- Add about an inch of water to pan and steam broccoli for about 4 minutes. Take the broccoli out and set aside. Pour the water from the pan and dry with a cloth.
3- In the same pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the garlic. Let the garlic flavor the oil for about three minutes. Add the broccoli.
4- Add the milk to the pan.
5- Slowly whisk in the flour.
6- Cook about 6 minutes or until thickened, stirring constantly. Add the additional tsp flour if needed.
7- Add the Parmesan and the cream cheese.
8- Toss with the pasta.
